Under Arkansas law, Misdemeanors are broken down into four classes:
- Class “A” Misdemeanors – punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500.
- Class “B” Misdemeanors – punishable by up to ninety days in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
- Class “C” Misdemeanor – punishable by up to thirty days in jail and a fine of up to $500.
- “Unclassified” Misdemeanors – statute specific fines and jail time are set out for each offence, such as DWI.
Some examples and explanations of the most common Arkansas misdemeanors include:
- Possession of Drug Paraphernalia – The type and purpose of the paraphernalia will determine if it is charged as a misdemeanor or felony.
- Possession of Controlled Substance – Whether or not the controlled substance is a misdemeanor or felony depends on the type and weight of the substance.
- Battery 3rd Degree – this is usually your typical bar fight where no one is seriously injured.
- Domestic Battery 3rd Degree – Some type of domestic relationship (Husband,Wife, Brother, Sister, Roommate, Cousin, ect.) must exist.
- Assault – This is usually the result of a tussle where no one had any visible injuries.
- Terroristic Threatening – This is the adult equivalent of running your mouth on the playground and telling someone you are going to beat them up.
- Harassment – This is a sustained pattern of bothering someone who does not want contact with you.
- Public Intoxication – Being intoxicated and annoying.
- Disorderly Conduct – Engaging in behavior that is annoying to others.
- Obstructing Governmental Operations – Usually happens when you lie to the police about who you are.
- DWI – Being in control of a motorized vehicle and having a BAC of .08 or higher, or being intoxicated.
- Minor in Possession – Usually possessing alcohol before you are of legal age to consume the alcohol.
- Carrying a Weapon – This is a crime of much debate recently. The law currently requires a culpable mental state for a conviction.
- Theft of Property – When you are the person who took the property worth less than $1,000.
- Theft by Receiving – When you possess property that you know or should know is stolen.
And although it is true that misdemeanors are not as serious as felonies, they can easily wreck your life. Many employers ask about misdemeanors. A domestic abuse charge may actually prevent you from owning a firearm. But the most important reason to take Arkansas misdemeanors seriously is because Arkansas courts will hold them against you in the future if you’re convicted of another crime. This can make a huge difference in your future sentence.
The point is that you need to hire an experienced, aggressive criminal defense attorney if you have been accused of a misdemeanor.
When you call, this is what you can expect:
- A prompt consultation at one of our three offices (North Little Rock, Cabot, or Clarksville) or, if necessary, in jail.
- A careful explanation of what you might be facing and all your options. Some criminal defense lawyers want clients to plead guilty to any misdemeanor because it’s easier. We will never advise you to plead guilty unless it’s necessary.
- A swift and thorough investigation of all the facts of your case.
- A creative yet aggressive trial strategy that incorporates the latest technology with time-tested techniques.
We care about your future and want to protect you from the damage of a misdemeanor conviction. If you need help with your misdemeanor, do not wait. Call today: North Little Rock (501) 372-1212, Cabot (501) 941-1937, or Clarksville (479) 754-2512.