With offices in North Little Rock, Bryant, Clarksville, Batesville, and Cabot, the criminal defense lawyers at Wilson & Haubert aggressively represent clients in criminal matters throughout the state of Arkansas. If you are being investigated or charged with a crime in state or federal court, please contact us immediately. The sooner we start on your case, the better.
Good legal advice is essential at every stage of a criminal case. There will likely be an investigation, even before you are actually charged with a crime. The police will probably interview you and collect any other evidence that is available. This is one of the most important times to have an experienced, aggressive criminal defense lawyer. What you say can make or break your case. With the right help, a prosecutor may never even be able to charge you.
Once you have been charged, we adopt a hands-on approach to your case. We then conduct our own investigation, getting information from the government, interviewing witnesses, visiting the crime scene, and gathering any other facts or information relevant to your case. Only then can we best serve your interests by understanding the case better than the prosecutor.
The laws about DWI’s (Driving While Intoxicated) can be confusing, and everyone seems to think that he or she is an expert. In our experience, most of the advice that people give is wrong. If you’ve been charged with a DWI, you need someone who knows the law and knows what to do to give you a fighting chance—an aggressive Arkansas DWI attorney. Some DWI’s really are winnable, but many are not. Because we are DWi attorneys and understand the law, we will be able to tell you where you stand.
Common Questions regarding DWIs in Arkansas:
Under the Arkansas DWI law, you can be convicted of a DWI for EITHER of these two things:
This is important. It means that the prosecutor doesn’t need your BAC to convict. He or she simply has to show beyond a reasonable doubt that you were intoxicated while you were in control of the vehicle. The term “intoxicated” is pretty broad; it pretty much means that your driving is affected and it doesn’t matter whether it was drugs, alcohol, or both that were responsible.
The term “intoxication” can be interpreted differently. A good DWI attorney will force a prosecutor to prove that the substance is truly an intoxicant.
The penalties for an Arkansas DWI increase significantly every time you get one. A first DWI carries a penalty of no less than one day and no more than one year and a fine between $150 and $1000. The person will also have his or her license suspended for 120 or 180 days, depending on BAC.
The fine and jail time are dependent on several factors, which include the following:
DWI’s stack up based on a five-year basis. So, when a person is convicted of a DWI, the Court will look back five years and any other DWI’s will dramatically increase the sentence.
A second offense faces imprisonment of not less than 30 days and a fine from $400 to $3,000. A third offense is 90 days and from $900 to $5,000. Again, having a passenger under 16 in the car and one’s actual BAC are both factors that might make sentence more severe.
Although most DWI’s are misdemeanors, it is important that you do whatever you can to protect yourself. A DWI can affect current or prospective employment and will make your insurance rates rise significantly. You are better off finding an experienced, aggressive DWI attorney who understands the law and can make sure that you are able to fight a DWI conviction. If you need help with your situation, do not wait. Please call us at one of our two locations: North Little Rock (501) 372-1212 or Cabot (501) 941-1937.
An Arkansas felony is any crime that is punishable by incarceration in a state prison (Misdemeanors are only punishable by time in local jails.) If you have been charged with a felony in Arkansas, you need to contact a criminal defense attorney immediately because you may face serious jail time, as shown below.
Arkansas divides felonies up into several classes: Class Y Felonies, Class A Felonies, Class B Felonies, Class C Felonies, or Class D Felonies. There are also “unclassified felonies,” which are unclassified because the particular law will tell you your punishment.
A Class Y Felony carries a minimum sentence of ten years, but no more than forty years or life. Examples include murder, rape, arson, and kidnapping
A Class A Felony carries a minimum sentence of six years, but no more than thirty years. Examples include aggravated robbery, human trafficking, and many sex and drug crimes.
A Class B Felony carries a minimum sentence of five years, but no more than twenty years. These crimes include burglary, theft of property and forgery
A Class C Felony carries a minimum sentence of three years, but no more than ten years. Common offenses include receiving stolen property, vandalism, failure to appear, financial identity fraud, and intimidating a witness
A Class D Felony carries a maximum sentence of six years. Examples include aggravated assault, breaking and entering, cruelty to animals, and defacing a firearm.
A felony charge is serious; a felony conviction will affect the rest of your life. If you’ve been charged with a felony (or even if you think you’ll be charged), please contact us to make sure that someone is there to protect your rights.
And although it is true that misdemeanors are not as serious as felonies, they can easily wreck your life. Many employers ask about misdemeanors. A domestic abuse charge may actually prevent you from owning a firearm. But the most important reason to take Arkansas misdemeanors seriously is because Arkansas courts will hold them against you in the future if you’re convicted of another crime. This can make a huge difference in your future sentence.
The point is that you need to hire an experienced, aggressive criminal defense attorney if you have been accused of a misdemeanor.
We care about your future and want to protect you from the damage of a misdemeanor conviction. If you need help with your misdemeanor, do not wait.
With this information in hand, you will be prepared to make important decisions regarding your case, such as whether you want to select a judge or jury trial or wish to explore the possibility of a negotiated plea agreement. Once you have made these decisions, we proceed along those lines and provide you with vigorous representation to secure the best possible outcome.
Wilson & Haubert offers a diverse range of criminal law representation including:
We care about your future and want to protect you from the damage of a conviction. If you need help with your situation, do not wait. We have skilled and aggressive criminal defense lawyers who can effectively fight to protect your rights. Please contact us at one of our two locations: North Little Rock (501) 372-1212 or Cabot (501) 941-1937.