Family Law

Family Law Lawyers

We understand and help with divorce, custody, child support, adoptions, and guardianships. 

$500 to start your case. 

Family Law in Arkansas

Across cultures and across the centuries, people have always depended on family for love and stability. For most of us, our family is the first place we look for help during difficult times. We expect them to be there when no one else will be.

And that is why there is conflict within every family, even the ones that look “perfect.” Because most of us reserve our deepest love for our family, we can be hurt the deepest by our family. There is no way around it—family members are going to hurt each other.

With all this potential for conflict, families often struggle with difficult legal issues. Many people think only of ugly divorces when they think about “family law”—the kind where the parties get into screaming matches over who gets the furniture. But a good family lawyer should always help minimize conflict and restore relationships when possible.

Family Law is about protecting what matters—your family. We serve Arkansas families by pursuing innovative, reconciliation-driven solutions to all their Family Law needs.

How Much Does an Arkansas Family Law Case Cost?

We offer family law cases starting at $500 down with payment plans to fit your budget. 

The Quick, Easy, and Cheap Arkansas Court Case

I talk to a lot of people who need legal help. Everyone wants cases to be quick and easy, and most want them to be cheap. To that end, many of these people don’t have much money and want advice about whether they can complete their case without an attorney to save on costs.  You can try to complete it without an attorney, but you might hit some bumps in the road. Here is pricing for the uncontested matters:

Full Representation for Uncontested Matters (Divorce, Child Custody, Child Support, Paternity, and Guardianship)

  1.  Uncontested Matter for Divorce, Child Custody, Child Support, Paternity (the full package)  all the documents and the hearing (up to 4 hours of time). If the matter becomes contested the price may go up.
  2.  Uncontested Guardianship or Adoption (full package) all the documents and the hearing.

What is an uncontested matter?

Many lawyers use the terms differently—to distinguish tough cases from easy cases. So, a case where the parties agree on everything will be an uncontested matter in Arkansas. In many instances, anything else is a contested matter. (And once something is contested, the case cost automatically goes way up, of course.)

How Much Does a Contested matter Cost in Arkansas?

Court cases are expensive. The biggest cost is obviously an emotional toll. The financial cost of an Arkansas court case can also be significant, but it doesn’t have to be. However, we are trying to make it easier for the Average Arkansan to afford a lawyer.

Full Representation consists of Drafting and filing of a Summons, Complaint, Decree and other motions the attorney deems necessary, as well as performing discovery in contested matters. Depositions are not included in the full representation. However, if the client decides a deposition is necessary, the client will approve and pay for the costs of the court reporter, the transcript, and an additional $750 flat fee for the attorney to perform or defend the deposition. Not every matter will fit into categories, but 95% will.  These figures don’t factor in things like experts or private investigator fees, which might make it significantly more expensive. (Many experts are more expensive than lawyers.)

  • Free
    Consultation
  • Uncont. Divorce
    $1,500
  • Admin. Matter
    $3,500
  • Uncont. Paternity
    $1,500
  • Uncont. Guardianship
    $2,000
  • Uncont. Adoption
    $2,000
  • Contested 1/2 Day Hearing
    $3,500
  • Contested Full Day Hearing
    $6,000
  • Additional Days of Hearing
    $3,000
  • $250
    Limited Scope Complaint or Response
  • $400
    Limited Scope Decree or Discovery
  • $500
    Representation at Uncontested Hearing

Need to Give us a Call?

Call for help or to schedule a free consultation.

Family Law Blog

What about custody during the virus?

Arkansas Child Custody During The Coronavirus  Many parents are asking questions about child visitation schedules and the Coronavirus. Below are common questions and basic guidelines. Overall, it is best to follow the court order. Remember that the judge’s duty is to consider what is in the best interest of the child (link to article) and Arkansas law wants…

Jun 22 2020

READ MORE

New Child Support Order in Arkansas

There is a new Child Support Order in Arkansas. The way Arkansas calculates child support has changed! Previous Child Support Calculation In Arkansas, the way child support is calculated is governed by Administrative Order No. 10. Previously, child support payments were calculated based solely on the income of the non-custodial parent. The calculation did not…

May 21 2020

READ MORE

Can I get primary custody if my child wants to live with me?

Can I get primary custody if my child wants to live with me? My child says he/she wants to live with me, will the Judge take that into consideration in determining which parent is awarded primary custody of our child?  Attorneys are often asked at what age can the minor child make their own decision about…

Feb 27 2020

READ MORE

What happens when charged with domestic battering or assault in Arkansas?

First Time Charge For Domestic Battering Or Assault In Arkansas – What Happens? Even if you’ve never been in trouble before, a charge for domestic battering or assault on a family or household member is a serious offense. A misdemeanor conviction could land you in jail, force you to move out of your home or…

Feb 4 2020

READ MORE